Flashing SE K800i phone

Hi readers. It’s a long time since my last login to this blog. Sorry for late approve and replying to comments. hhe.. Now I want to share my experience in flashing my Sony Ericsson K800i. It’s a secondhand phone that I bought online few days ago for playing purpose. Now, I feel so glad to this phone with all it can do now. I’ll share only a few clues here. If you want the rest related to “wireless job” function, a little search in some flash and wireless forum will surely help you. :)

CAUTION. Here’s few things you need to do before doing anything risky to your phone :

  • Backup GDFS first
  • Fully charge your phone
  • Use notebook or computer with UPS (in case if blackout will happen)
  • Try at your own risk :D

Okay, here we go. Here’s the steps :

  1. Download the needed firmware. It’s divided into two files : MAIN and FS (filesystem) .
  2. Download the flashing software : SETool2 Lite or XS++ (I used both).
  3. Prepare your phone and data cable : Plug your data cable into computer (but don’t plug to phone). Turn off the phone and don’t forget to remove your SIM and memory card.
  4. Then open Setool2lite software.
  5. Choose “Phone Type:” K800 and click “Read GDFS”
  6. Reinsert your battery. Press and hold “c” button.  Insert USB to phone
  7. If the USB Flash driver has not been installed before, install it (the driver located in setool’s driver folder).
  8. Wait for the Backup process
  9. After finish remove USB from phone. Now browse for firmware files by clicking “Add” button
  10. Click FLASH button, then repeat step #6
  11. After some minutes, the software will ask you to remove cable from phone, press READY button, then repeat step #6. Do as instructed. And wait around 30-60 minutes for the process to finish. Then close the program. Actually the process for general users stop here. But for someone (e.g. wireless engineer) who need additional steps, like writing script to GDFS, please read next step.
  12. I used XS++ to write script (because setool2 didn’t work for my phone). Click “Connect”. Do step #6.
  13. When phone have been connected, chose GDFS Configuration option. Then Browse for the script.  Click Run.
  14. Wait for the process to finish. Quit program. Reinsert battery before you turn on your phone and see the script effect. :)

That’s all the steps that I did. Remember, you should flash your phone with firmware that has same Flash CID. For checking your CID, you could use Identify button setool or simply Connect using XS++. Example, if you need to upgrade flash CID to 52, just connect your phone to XS++. If your phone not CID52, xs++ will ask if you want to upgrade to CID2 or not. If you want to flash using firmware that have different CID with your phone, you could tick the “Bypass DB2020 security” option in SETool2 Lite software before click FLASH.

Actually I’ve tried some trial and error steps to play. Like writing other phone’s GDFS and make my phone die. I was so panicked at that time because the software can’t detect my phone when I pressed “c” button. I’ve go to SE service centre in my city, but they said it can’t be fixed. And I ask to some other service places, they said they could repair it but the price is to high I think.

So I go back home and remember an article about other way to connecting the phone. I read again and see that “2+5” could be used if your EROM is damaged. EROM is damaged if there is blinking red in your infrared port when turning on phone. I checked mine, and yeah my phone EROM was damaged. So instead using “c” button, I used “2+5” button to write my own GDFS. Flash with firmware. And it works! It’s resurrected! hahaha…

That’s all friends. Thank you for reading my little stupid post. Hhe..

About this entry